Postgraduate Sounding Board

You are here: Home >

Postgraduate Sounding Board Banner

About the Postgraduate Sounding Board


The Postgraduate Sounding Board is made up of 10 Postgraduates - one Master’s student and one PhD student from each of the University's five faculties: Arts, Engineering, Medicine & Health Sciences, Science, and Social Sciences.

Postgraduate Sounding Board 2016-17


Arts Jessica Kane Anna Cruse
Engineering Sebastian Groth Daniel Grossegger
Medicine Manuel Besares Eleanor Bellows
Science Cristovao Texeira Mark Jurrat
Social Sciences Erly Munoz Pedro Marques Correia da Silva

These students are elected in the autumn term to represent the views of Postgraduates within their faculty and meet once a month with the Postgraduate Officer to help inform decision making within the Students’ Union and University. They also make up the judging panel for the postgraduate categories of the University Staff Oscars and manage applications to the Academic Community Fund (a pot of money available for PG Course Reps to bid to!).

Elections for the Postgraduate Sounding Board will be taking place during October 2017.  For more information, visit our election pages.

Postgraduate Academic Community Fund

The Postgraduate Academic Community fund is available for all postgraduate Course Reps.  The Students' Union and Postgraduate Officer are keen to help foster community through the Course Rep network by allocating pots of money for the purpose of social events which can develop community with an added benefit of gathering feedback on your course.

Only Course Reps can apply for the fund - if you want to find out who your Course Rep is or get help applying, email the Students' Union Representation Co-ordinators.

If you are a Course Rep, you can apply for the fund here.